Problems with RTD lead University of Denver students to avoid transit and choose bumper to bumper traffic

Passenger exits an RTD light rail train at the University of Denver Station. Photo Credit: Lincoln Roch

As gas prices rise and congestion on Denver roads returns to pre pandemic levels, University of Denver students have an alternate option of getting around the city. The Regional Transportation District has connections to both its light rail and bus network on Campus. But many students are choosing to face the increased burden of Car usage over RTD.

Sophomore Nyalla Gallager lives on campus and works in the Highlands Neighborhood eight miles away from campus. Her commute requires her to take I-25 from University Boulevard to Speer Boulevard through one of the most congested stretches of highway in Colorado. 

“Without traffic it’s only a 13 minute drive with traffic it can be anywhere from 25 to 35 minutes” said Gallagher.

One thought on “Problems with RTD lead University of Denver students to avoid transit and choose bumper to bumper traffic

  1. leahtanner16 April 19, 2022 / 10:27 pm

    I think the topic you chose was very relevant to the DU student life. I personally use RTD as much as I can as I do not have a car here on campus. While this was well written with two sides of an opinion included, you ignored the privilege of those you interviewed. Public transportation, while originally intended to be for everyone, has become a necessity for those who cannot afford a car or other modes of transportation. While I am a bad example since I am a full time student, I do not have the funds to park a car on campus thus I use RTD and public transportation to get downtown, to the airport and other places. While public transportation was not designed to be a home for those who cannot afford housing, it is a warm and enclosed space and thus those who cannot afford to live elsewhere thus I think some of the quotes used are impolite. Public transportation is not just a backup option to those who have cars but often the only option to some individuals to get inside. While I too sometimes feel unsafe on public transit I know that this is perhaps the only place for certain individuals to be safely.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment