From vampire to vigilante: Robert Pattinson’s DC debut 

The newest phenomenon to overtake the superhero universe is Matt Reeve’s iteration of “The Batman,” starring Twilight’s Robert Pattinson. 

The film grossed over six hundred million at the worldwide box-office since its release on March 4, 2022. 

With an 85% on Rotten Tomatoes, The Batman is considerably better than anything DC has produced in a long time.

The movie explores various facets of DC comic book lore, including the essential aspects of Bruce Wayne’s story from previous Batman movies such as Catwoman, Commissioner Gordon, and Alfred, to crime bosses like Carmine Falcone and Salvatore Maroni. 

Overall, the film does a superb job of creating a new interpretation of the Batman that audiences know so well from the Christopher Nolan and Christian Bale, The Dark Knight Trilogy. 

Batman in this universe exists as this brooding, overly-driven and damaged individual seeking to rectify the impurities of the corrupt city that is Gotham. 

Bruce Wayne is no different, gravitating towards loneliness, being excessively covered in black eyeliner for most of the film, and seeking to continue his father’s efforts at improving the quality of life of the city. 

“I like that it understands that Batman needs to be more than just fear to the people of Gotham. He needs to uplift the city in order to make a change,” said Aidan Guerra, a freshman computer science major.

In previous instances, Bruce Wayne is a flamboyant billionaire and seeks socialization and grandeur as his means of distinguishing himself from the characteristics that someone would have if they were a vigilante. The absence of this character choice is arguably the most compelling thing about Pattinson’s portrayal, as you can no longer tell where Batman begins and Bruce ends. 

“I like that in this movie Batman doesn’t know who he is or why he does what he does. He’s figuring it out as he goes along,” said Liam Piper, a freshman international policy major.

His character is said to be modeled after Kurt Cobain, and for the first and last sequences of the movie Something In the Way plays on Bruce Wayne’s stereo, feeding into this new grunge aesthetic. His hair is in his eyes for 60% of his out of suit shots, which is something that can be attributed to the emo boy community of 2014. 

“Although it was too long and there were too many elements of the cinematography focused on overdramatization, I thought the way they presented the character of Batman was much more suiting since this time Batman is really just a tortured soul and I think that’s more genuine to the character,” said Aidan Phillips, a freshman political science major at the University of Denver.

Zoe Kravitz is the best Catwoman we have seen so far and offers a scene stealing performance every time she appears on screen. From her movement to her sultry voice, she was the perfect embodiment of the iconic character, previously portrayed by Anne Hathaway and Michelle Pfiffer. 

There was also a larger exploration of Gotham as its own location in this film, with long, aesthetically pleasing shots of the skyline, buildings and citizens. A vague usage of New York scenery has historically characterized Gotham and in straying away from this, the movie is visually stunning and adds to the new reality it has created. 

One element that did not serve as an advantage to the film was its length. With a running time of 2h and 56min the Batman also seems as though it would never end. 

There are multiple points in the story that could have ended the film and as an audience member you just couldn’t tell exactly when they would come. It was almost as though they had taken everyone’s ideas from the writers room and attempted to incorporate them all into one movie. 

I saw numerous people use the bathroom at least twice in the middle of the film, and they missed nothing in doing so. The running time could easily have been cut in half if there weren’t so many sequences of Pattinson walking slow motion towards the camera while his theme song played in the background. 

The pacing was incredibly slow and it was hard to keep track of the main focus with all of the subplots the movie attempts to maintain. The dramatic scene where Catwoman is revealed to be the daughter of Salvatore Maroni, really shouldn’t have existed at all; it served no purpose. 

I can, however, honestly say that the car chase featuring the Batmobile was the most visually stunning and impressive aspect of the film in my opinion. Showing off cool gadgets, and a sleek form it is genuinely a car someone could fall in love with.

There were some inherent flaws in costuming given that Zoe Kravitz’s mask looked like an old beanie that had the eyes cut out while the rest of her outfit was seemingly high budget. I also don’t feel like it is necessary to see Bruce Wayne in his post usage of the suit covered in eye liner as many times as we did.

The thing I liked most about his film is that it is a Batman movie whose primary focus was to set itself apart and create a new experience for audiences that previous franchises have never done. 

The Riddler was featured as its main antagonist and I thought this was the perfect choice given that the Joker has been overdone in the past twenty years of the franchise.

This was a seemingly Joker free movie, until the end when they couldn’t leave well enough alone. While I admire the cameo and reference to the iconic villain, the film would have done such a good job at setting a new tone without the Joker had they chosen not to incorporate it in the film. 

All in all, it was a fun and captivating film to watch and I would definitely watch again with some friends. However, I am in no means in love with it. Batman could easily be rated at an 8/10. 

Read more: From vampire to vigilante: Robert Pattinson’s DC debut 

6 thoughts on “From vampire to vigilante: Robert Pattinson’s DC debut 

  1. alexachan54 April 28, 2022 / 12:59 pm

    I really enjoyed reading this review. I, personally, haven’t seen the new Batman yet, but have been trying to decide if I want to. This review was descriptive and credited the entire Batman franchise. Thank you for pointing out the inherent flaws of the film. I’m looking forward to considering these notes when I watch the film.

    Like

  2. schuham April 28, 2022 / 2:03 pm

    Great film review! I agree with pretty much everything on this review as I walked out of the theater with pretty much the same point of view. I liked that you included the scene with the Batmobile as that’s probably my favorite part of the film, but also the slow walking that I noticed throughout the film. I’ll probably end up rewatching the film in the future!

    Like

  3. lulufoulk28 May 1, 2022 / 6:15 pm

    I enjoy the fact that you focused on both the good and the bad of the film. I definitely agree that it was waaay too long. I would’ve liked some quotes agreeing with that opinion, as most of the quotes you have are positive. You paint and overall great, and accurate, picture of the film and the background you give is helpful and relevant. All in all, a great story.

    Like

  4. marinm1 May 1, 2022 / 7:26 pm

    I am a fan of DC movies (even if their films may come off a bit “cheesy” for others, at times), so I appreciate your detailed review here as I have yet to see the newest Batman in theatres. I am also curious and excited to see Zoe Kravitz’s play on the Catwoman character as I, personally, absolutely love Michelle Pfeiffer’s portrayal of the original Catwoman. Although I am disappointed that the Joker does not have a huge amount of screen time in this version, I agree that this move was probably based on the attempt to make this a more unique and novel version–along with Batman’s new look and attitude. Nevertheless, your review has convinced me to watch this movie sooner than later and see if I would give it the same rating. However, after learning about the film length, I may just have to wait to see this one from home, so I can have the option to pause and play. Nevertheless, I hope to love it just as much as the 85% fans do on Rotten Tomatoes! Again, thanks for the review!

    Like

  5. llaurenschmidt May 2, 2022 / 10:22 am

    I really liked this review; I personally have been teetering on the edge of seeing this movie for weeks as I have been very much put off by the running time, but after hearing what you had to say about it I’m much more willing to give it a go. I really appreciate that you recognized those detrimental aspects of the film as it was definitely useful to know that they didn’t spoil the experience for you.

    Like

  6. Lincoln Roch May 2, 2022 / 11:57 pm

    This is a quality review for the movie. After seeing this movie I agree with almost every critique you had of it. I was pretty bored through a solid half of the movie which brought down the quality of the movie experience for me. I also was kinda annoyed at the attempt to make batman a sad goth boy. I actually started laughing in one of the final scenes as Patterson recited a voice over because he was trying to be so edgy and dark. I didn’t hate this movie but really no batman movie will ever compare to the dark night trilogy.

    Like

Leave a comment