Sue Kelley H.W.I.C

(Photo of Sue Kelley by the University of Denver’s photographer)

Sue Kelley is the head of operations for the University of Denver’s Men’s Lacrosse team.

Sue has been with this program since 2015, when the pois won the National championship for the first time in program history. Sue Kelley was there right from the start. She was a major contributor to the team in many ways that go unnoticed to people who don’t know what being head of operation of a men’s lacrosse team means.

Being the head of operations for most companies and organizations is mainly focused on these responsibilities of designing policies, overseeing customer service and implementing technology solutions. You should be a responsible leader with an analytical and strategic mind and have a broad knowledge of the business. With these requirements for a normal business. But being a part of the Denver men’s lacrosse staff allows her to give a more personal touch to things.

“Being a part of a team of fantastic coaches and players. I also thoroughly enjoy getting to know the parents – the relationships I’ve developed will last long beyond my time at DU, and to me that’s most important,” said Kelley.

Going to a team that was on the path towards a national championship you have to be very experienced in the field of lacrosse and of being head of operations, so everything runs smoothly.

“I worked at Penn State University prior to moving to Denver. Even though I worked in academic support at PSU, I knew I loved that age group, and I am passionate about athletics and lacrosse. I also was a Lacrosse Director for a large youth program in Pennsylvania, so this incorporated that experience as well. I knew I would love DU and the environment there,”  said Kelley.

The East coast is known for their great lacrosse programs and being the capital of the lacrosse world. As Denver has taken the role of “lacrosse capital of the West” with the experience that Kelley had on the east coast it was destined to happen.

“This varies greatly as in the fall season, a lot of my efforts are on planning for the celebration weekend – the banquet a golf outing, a silent auction, half-time entertainment (ie – Unified Lacrosse), etc. In the spring a large amount of my time is spent creating itineraries for the away contests for the team which includes triple checking flight names (there are always changes) and hotel names. I also coordinate with the university we will be visiting for all details – for example, tickets and other practice and game day details. I aim to get the best trip/experience for the team while staying within budget constraints,” said Kelley.

When in season the main point of emphasis for head of operations is to make sure things go smoothly with flights, hotels, dinners and transportation. It’s so coaches and players don’t need to worry about anything other than the task at hand. Obviously, things happen that you can’t control but the smoother the better.

Since she has been around lacrosse most of her life, she was able to learn the ins and the outs of the game and the business aspect of college sports. Even, directing for a high school lacrosse team on the east coast is very intense on a lacrosse aspect of things with traveling, fundraisers, team gathering, dinners and other team activities. With a team looking to make a change that would have a big impact Sue was the woman for the job.

“I took on more of the service component for the team, organizing team events at the homeless shelter and practice sessions with Unified lacrosse, for example. I also have worked as a tutor with students on papers as this was what I did at Penn State. The travel aspect of the job has remained consistent,” said Kelley.

The ability of being able to balance an entire team or fifty-five men a few coaches, all of the families and all the behind the scenes things that go unnoticed you have to have a love for what you do. That’s exactly what Kelley has for this job and this team.

“I love athletics and I love working with this age group. Game day is one of my favorite days – it’s super exciting. This particular job worked well with my desire for a good work/life balance,” said Kelley.

Sue Kelley has been a valued member of the Denver men’s lacrosse team and will help them on their fight towards another national championship.

Leave a comment