‘Dune: Part One’ film wins six Oscars proving a phenomenal performance

After the film release of “Dune: Part One” on October 22, 2021 in the United States, the 155 minute, Sci-fi film goes on to win six Oscars and 10 nominations during the Academy Awards.

Having a star-studded cast may have also helped with the film’s explosive popularity. Some of the leading stars included Timothée Chalamet, Rebecca Ferguson, Jason Momoa, Javier Bardem, Oscar Isaac, Stellan Skarsgård and Zendaya—just to name a few.

The official trailer displays a stunning depiction of the film’s intriguing storyline and immediately captured my attention. Then, after having viewed the film for the first time, I thought it alluring, enchanting, and quite fascinating.

“I love how it wasn’t just a film, it was an experience. The way it was filmed, edited, the visual effects, the acting and music all culminated into an epic. It was a must-see visual masterpiece,” described a fellow internet-surfing “Dune: Part One” fan, Moonlight X.

The Warner Brothers, Legendary Entertainment, and Villeneuve Films production companies had an estimated box office budget of $165,000,000 and ultimately grossed a laudable $400,671,789 worldwide.

Based on Frank Herbert’s book and directed by Denis Villeneuve, the newest “Dune” film comes to the big screen nearly 40 years after the first version came out. Although the “Dune” books are relatively well received, it seems as though the two versions of the film have critics and fans alike debating as to which version is best.

Subsequently, it became one of the most talked about films of 2021.

However, unlike many critics (such as some hardcore “Star Wars” fans claiming its portrayal a copycat), I had no prior knowledge about the “Dune” world which allowed me to form an opinion of the film with a fresh perspective.

The plot’s intentionally slower pacing gives viewers enough time to become familiar with the setting and all character identities. The use of muted grays and browns, desolate landscapes, and dim-lit scenes, gives way to a mysterious, dark, and mystical ambiance.

Another fellow internet-surfing “Dune: Part One” fan, Ute1967, stated that “There are two performances happening in this movie—visual and audio. They both are beautiful, and while they combine to make this special movie, I would have to say that the sounds engaged the deepest parts of me while the visuals drive home and emotionally cap my responses to the story.”

The images are helped with the use of CGI, but the results are phenomenally pleasing to the eye. The battles and staging are also impressive, making the viewer feel as though they are close to the action.

If you are looking for extreme, pack-filled action with back-to-back fighting scenes, however, then this film should not be your first choice.

Nevertheless, I found myself enthralled. I gulped along with the actors throughout the film, attempting to help them quench their thirst with every drop of water that remained in the never-ending expanse of their arid deserts. Haven chosen Wadi Rum, Jordan as the filming location, the desert’s realistic swirling streams of heat and massive sandstorms rising above the vast, rolling, plains kept me fully engaged.

“After seeing the movie a few times, I played it again with my eyes mostly closed. I just listened while only occasionally opening my eyes to catch some key visuals. The texture of the music, characters speaking, and audio mood of each scene was amazing,” stated Ute 1967. “Amazing movie. I can’t wait for part two.”

Simply put, the film is fantastically done, both graphically and aesthetically speaking. The film also has novel sound effects and wonderful cinematography overall—so much so that the beautifully rendered, parched country made me frequently clench onto my cool glass of water.

I was so engrossed in the storyline, the two and a half hours flew by and left me craving for the sequel.

Like many others, the “Dune: Part One” film has become one of my absolute favorite films and one of which I frequently re-watch via Amazon Prime. All that is left to do is watch the film for yourself and see whether you believe it is well-deserving of its multi-Oscar wins. Although, after you watch it once, do yourself a favor: pause, rewind, and press play one more time.

2 thoughts on “‘Dune: Part One’ film wins six Oscars proving a phenomenal performance

  1. noriveit April 28, 2022 / 2:22 pm

    Melissa, your story looks fantastic and super professional! I love the stance you took on this movie, specifically your criticism and analysis of the central elements! I also think the edits that you made since I read your article in class add intrigue and depth to the story. I love the Sand Dunes picture and the Dune pun. Overall, great job!

    Like

  2. augustsmith1790 May 4, 2022 / 6:23 pm

    Hi Melissa. I enjoyed reading your story for a few reasons. First of all you did a great job of showing how successful this movie was by showing statistics such as how much it grossed. Secondly, I like how you incorporate the soundtrack as part of this film, because the soundtrack is really powerful and a huge part of Dune’s success, in my opinion. Finally, I love that one of your sources re-listened to the movie with their eyes mostly closed. Such a cool idea that I may try out myself with some films I have seen a few times already! Overall, well done and a cool article.

    Like

Leave a comment